When you and your team are using and sharing notebooks, it's vital that you have a way to keep track of different versions of reports and the ability to revert changes. For that reason, all of your notebooks are automatically version-controlled for your convenience.
What is Version Control?
In Count when you create a notebook, it is in draft mode. This means only you can see, and edit the notebook.
When you want to share, you will need to publish a notebook to the project. This makes it visible, and editable (by those with editing permissions).
Once you, or anyone with edit permissions, wants to make changes to that notebook, they will need to fork it. This creates a new draft notebook that's still connected to the published version.
Publish vs Merge
Once you are done making edits to a forked notebook you will have the option to merge or publish your new draft.
Merging will create a new version of the notebook that is still connected with the previous versions.
Publishing will create a brand new notebook chain with its own version history.
Viewing Old Versions
You can see a full version history of a notebook by clicking the clock in the left-hand data bar.
You can select a version to view it.
Restoring Old Versions
If you want to restore an old version, you can select it from the version history, then click the notebook menu and select Restore this version.
This will still keep all previous versions.
Versions, Views & Alerts: Latest is Live
Whenever you publish, merge, or restore an old version you will be asked to define or update any existing views or alerts.
These must be connected to the latest version, so if you restore a version and don't update the view link, then that view will cease to update automatically. Similarly, alerts will stop running when they are no longer connected to the latest version of a notebook.